Mrs. Kawna Harder

Phone: 520-696-6163 ext. 6195


Degrees and Certifications:

AA in Accounting B.A. in Interdisciplinary Studies Liberal Arts Special Education Teaching Certificate

Mrs. Kawna Harder

My name is Kawna Harder.  I have been a Special Education Teacher for over ten years.  I started my career in Special Education as a para-educator in a very small town in Eastern Washington.  I loved being a para-educator but decided I wanted a more flexible careeer in education; therefore I went back to college and received my B.A. in the field of Interdisiplinary Studies Liberal Arts.  After that I went through the Alternative Route to Special Education Program conducted through four of the main universities in Washington State.  I received my Special Education Teaching Certificate and received my first job opportunity as a Special Education Teacher in Lake Havasu City Arizona.  My husband and I lived there for seven years where I taught Kindergarten through Third Grade in a Resource Room Setting.   During the last year in Lake Havasu City we became foster parents to two amazing children.  It took another year, but we were able to adopt them and moved to Cottonwood Arizona were I taught in the Developmental Preschool for two years and the Resource Room for two years.   Since our children are in First and Second Grade now; we decided  to move somewhere with more opportunites and diverstity for the family; as well as a great school district.  We moved to Tucson this summer after I was offered a Resource Room Kindergarten-First Grade teaching position at Donaldson Elementary. 


Our family has not had much of a chance to explore the surrounding areas; but we have heard a great deal about many of the unique, fun, educational  attractions.  I love wildlife and am an avid animal lover. I have one dog and three cats; which all came from  various Humane Societies in towns where we  lived. Best Friends Animal Santuary, located just outside Kanab Utah, is one of my favorite places on earth. I can't wait to explore more of this area and wildlife with my family.