Return to Headlines

Distinguished Service Award | October 2018


Help us congratulate Mr. Haverty on Facebook!


Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST)

Matt Haverty was also recognized as the 2018 Arizona Earth Science Teacher of the Year by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers!

Mr. Haverty is an amazing teacher who has inspired thousands of students through his Geoscience and Environmental Science classes at Amphi. His classes are known for their hands-on activities, fieldtrips, and relevancy to students. In addition to being an amazing teacher Mr. Haverty consistently works with local science research projects and the national Advanced Placement (AP) science programs.

Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) awards are given for "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth Sciences at the pre-college level." The Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Awards program was adopted by NAGT in 1971. Devised to honor pre-college teachers of earth science, the program has the following specific objectives:
•Identify excellence in teaching
•Appropriately recognize and reward excellence in teaching
•Stimulate higher levels of teaching performance
•Establish NAGT as a strong support organization for pre-college education, and
•Via active statewide and sectional programs, build a solid state, regional, and national liaison with administrators of pre-college earth science education.